Rock Climbing in Krabi

April 25, 2004

I decided to stop off at Ray Leigh beach, in Krabi Province, on the way up to Koh Phangang for a spot of rock climbing. Ray Leigh is acclaimed as the best place in Thailand if not the world for hot shot climbers looking for adventure. My decision to climb proved to be a brutal reminder of the frailities of my body and maybe a sure sign that I’d been in the Sun a little too long. The place is a totally beautiful bay surrounded by sand stone white cliffs, its a mix of resorts on the west beach and the low budget travellers on the East, naturally I was staying in a guest house on the East side with all the other cheap skates. On arrival I signed up with the Krabi climbling school for a morning’s beginners class with a local Thai instructor, known as Spiderman, he advised against 2 days straight and looking me up and down suggested a half day beginnners class, he proved to be right. The first problem was simply hauling my sorry arse off the ground…my arms seemed to muster the energy of a sparow. My technique was floored from the start, spiderman proceeded to bark orders at me as I hung about 3 feet off the ground enveloped in safety ropes and exhaustion. Meanwhile all the other beginners climbers happily leapt up past me like it was climbing a simple ladder to my increasing embarrasement. After struggling for the first hour I did muster some respect by making it to the top of 2 of my 4 ascents which was an achievement given my initial struggles, Spiderman politely congratulated me and I could sense a look in his eyes that he was glad I had decided against further ascents. Rock climbling Ray Leigh is the perfect place to visit, the tuition is excellent and its offers a spectacular variety of differing cliff faces to do it. I would advise more preparation than me particulalry building arm strength before coming out here. There a fair few bars around so I checked out a few ales in the evening with some pals which turned out to be a great night, its generally quite quiet around Krabi now, watched some fantastic fire poise (swinging fire on chains) displays by the locals outside the bar and had a generally wicked craic. Off to Koh Phangang tomorrow.

Leave a comment